Copper Valley Visitor Information Center

  • (907) 822-5555
  • Jct of Glenn & Richardson Hwys
  • Glennallen, AK 99588-0469

The Copper Valley, in East Alaska, also known as the Copper River Basin, encompasses approximately 20,649 square miles and is bounded by the Chugach National Forest to the south, the Alaska Range to the north, Wrangell Mountains of Wrangell-St. Elias National Park and Preserve to the east, and the Talkeetna and Chugach Mountains to the west. This vast region has nine of the 16 highest mountain peaks in North America. The Copper River, one of the major rivers on the continent, has its headwaters in Copper Lake, at the base of the Wrangell Mountains and bisects the region, flowing 250 miles to the Gulf of Alaska near Cordova.

  • Seasonality: Year-round